KateChopin.org
THE KATE CHOPIN INTERNATIONAL SOCIETY
23 September 2014
HOME BIOGRAPHY THE AWAKENING AT FAULT SHORT STORIES QUESTIONS QUOTES ABOUT US

The Kate Chopin International Society



We provide a network and forum for the study of American author Kate Chopin (1850–1904). We encourage and support scholarship and activities that illuminate Chopin's contribution to the American literary tradition, and we seek to preserve her literary significance for future generations.

About this website.

Our history--we are ten years old now!

The society was formed in 2004 by Heather Ostman and Avis Hewitt, both English professors at American universities, after the conference of the American Literature Association, an organization made up of scholarly societies devoted to the study of American authors. Most better-known American authors have a society of their own, and Heather and Avis thought Kate Chopin deserved a scholarly society focused on her work, even though the Kate Chopin Society of North America, with a different emphasis, already existed in St. Louis.

The Kate Chopin International Society created an advisory board made up mostly of Chopin specialists and sponsored panels at the 2005 ALA conference, as well as at ALA conferences each year since then, and sponsored special panels at the 2014 conference (held in Washington, DC, in late May). We also sponsor panels at other conferences.

To comment about the Kate Chopin International Society, email Heather Ostman or at Heather.Ostman@sunywcc.edu

To comment about this web site, email Bernard Koloski or at bkoloski@katechopin.org

Our officers and our website staff

Heather Ostman continues as president of the society and Avis Hewitt acts as secretary. Kelli O'Brien is the conference coordinator.

On the advisory board are Heather (State University of New York: Westchester Community College) and Avis (Grand Valley State University), Thomas Bonner (Xavier University of Louisiana), Barbara Ewell (Loyola University of New Orleans), Bernard Koloski (Mansfield University), Kathleen Butterly Nigro (University of Missouri--St. Louis), Mary Papke (University of Tennessee), John Staunton (University of North Carolina at Charlotte), Helen Taylor (Exeter University, UK), and Emily Toth (Louisiana State University).

The KateChopin.org website staff:

The editor of KateChopin.org is Bernard Koloski (Mansfield University).
The editors of short story texts are Kathleen Nigro (University of Missouri–St. Louis) and Bernard Koloski
The German translation specialist is Heidi Podlasli-Labrenza (University of Bremen, Germany).
The Portuguese translation specialist is Cido Rossi (São Paulo State University, Brazil).
The Spanish translation specialist is Eulalia Piñero Gil (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid).
The bibliography specialist is Kelli O'Brien (University of Memphis).
The link specialist is Kathryn O’Donoghue (City University of New York Graduate Center).

Members of the website advisory committee include Tom Bonner (Xavier University of Louisiana), Suzanne Disheroon (Cedar Valley College), Barbara Ewell (Loyola University of New Orleans), Beth Jensen (Georgia Perimeter College), Kathleen Nigro (University of Missouri--St. Louis), Kelli O’Brien (University of Memphis), Kate O’Donoghue (City University of New York Graduate Center), Eulalia Piñero Gil (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain), and Emily Toth (Louisiana State University).

A partial listing of our members--Autumn 2014

In addition to members based in the USA and England, we have members living and working in Brazil, Canada, China, Finland, Germany, Greece, Japan, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Spain, Portugal. . . .

Sonia Adams
Indiana University in Pennsylvania
S.M.Adams2@iup.edu

Melanie M. Austin
Seattle University

Janet Beer
Vice Chancellor
Oxford Brookes University
United Kingdom
jbeer@brookes.ac.uk

Sylvia Bennett
Marian Central High School
Woodstock, IL
sylvia.c.bennett@gmail.com

Gayle Birrell
Writer
Seattle, Washington
gayle.birrell@gmail.com

Laura V. Bonner
Editor, CarMax
Richmond, VA
lauravbonner@gmail.com

Thomas Bonner, Jr.
KCIS Board Member
Xavier University of Louisiana
tbonner@xula.edu

Zach Brooks
University of Alabama at Birmingham
zachbrooks2011@live.com

Christina G. Bucher
Berry College
cbucher@berry.edu

Vickie Burns
James Madison University
burnsvl@dukes.jmu.edu

Greg Chopin
Kate Chopin's great grandson
gdchopin@gmail.com

P. K. Collier
Author
Niantic, Connecticut
PKcollier@yahoo.com

Teresa Crew
Johnson and Wales University
smokeygracie@comcast.net

Pamela D’Ambrosia
Bramson ORT College
Queens, New York

Suzanne L. Disheroon
Cedar Valley College
drsusiedish@gmail.com
sdisheroon@dcccd.edu

Michelle Elkerton
Mater Dei High School
MElkerton@materdei.org

Miranda Elkins-Livingston
Texas Woman's University
melkins@twu.edu, lilymae2@hotmail.com

Nicol Michelle Epple
Graduate student
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
n.m.epple@iup.edu

Kate S. Flynn
Roosevelt High School
Saint Louis
KateSFlynn@gmail.com

Catherine Forsa
Case Western Reserve University
cqf2@case.edu

Heather Fox
University of South Florida
heatherfox@mail.usf.edu

Rosemary Franklin
University of Georgia
franklin@uga.edu

Meredith Frederich
Northern Illinios University
mfrederi@niu.edu

Sarah Fredericks
University of Arizona

Scott Thomas Gibson
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
stgibson@gmail.com

Farrah Gilbert
North Greenville University
fgcheer@hotmail.com

Katherine Hazen
Grand Valley High School
Orwell, Ohio
cuttergirl768@yahoo.com

Terri Hennessy
Grays Harbor College
thenness@ghc.edu

Avis Hewitt
KCIS Board Member
Grand Valley University
Avis.Hewitt@gmail.com

Lenora Hobbs
Kate Chopin Society of North America

Marilyn Hoder-Salmon
Florida International University
hodersm@fiu.edu

Irene Jankowski
ijankowski@ix.netcom.com

Trece Jordan-Larsen
Slidell High School
Slidell, Louisiana
trece.jordan-larsen@stpsb.org

Bernard Koloski
KCIS Board Member
bkoloski@katechopin.org

Linda Kornasky
Angelo State University

Carrie Koscher
University of St. Andrews
Scotland
carriesweeties@yahoo.com

Erik Levanowitz
Bath-Haverling Central School
Bath, New York
elevanowitz@bathcsd.org

Nanci Love
Bay College
Escanaba, Michigan

Sonja Lynch
Wartburg College
sonja.lynch@wartburg.edu

Gary Mayer
Stephen F. Austin State University
gmayer@sfasu.edu

Kerry Meehan McCann
Northern Regional College
Northern Ireland
Kerry@mccannfamily.plus.com

Crescida McCue
Humble High School
Houston Baptist University
crescida.mccue@humble.k12.tx.us

Julia McLeod
University of Tennessee
jmcleod5@utk.edu

Diane Meeks
Freelance writer
dianemeeks2@gmail.com

Patricia A.C. Milanes
York College
City University of New York
pmilanes@york.cuny.edu

Nadilza Martins de Barros Moreira
Federal University of Paraiba
Brazil

Tom Morgan
University of Dayton
morgantz@notes.udayton.edu

Lola Moss
Clark County School District, Nevada
LRM562@interact.ccsd.net

Cindy Murillo
University of New Mexico, Albuquerque
ccmur@unm.edu

Jennifer Nader
University of New Mexico, Albuquerque
jennader@unm.edu

Kathleen Butterly Nigro
KCIS Board Member
University of Missouri--St. Louis

Julia Nordmann
Freie Universität Berlin
Germany
jule.nordmann@gmail.com

Chrysula Norway
Athens College
Greece
(Hellenic American Educational Foundation)
n_chrysula@hotmail.com

Michelle N. Noyer-Granacki
Williams College
Michelle.N.Noyer-Granacki@williams.edu

Kelli Purcell O’Brien
KCIS Conference Coordinator
University of Memphis
kobrien1@memphis.edu

Kathryn O’Donoghue
City University of New York Graduate Center
kathryn.erin.odonoghue@gmail.com

Heather Ostman
KCIS President
Westchester Community College
SUNY; Valhalla, NY
Heather.Ostman@sunywcc.edu

Mary Papke
KCIS Board Member
University of Tennessee
papke@utk.edu

Kyllikki Persson
Belmont University
kyllikki.persson@gmail.com

Eulalia Piñero-Gil
Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
Spain
eulalia.pinero@uam.es

Becky Plant
Heritage University
rplant@live.com

Heidi Podlasli-Labrenz
University of Bremen
Germany
podlasli@uni-bremen.de

Josh Privett
Bob Jones University
jpriv491@students.bju.edu

Melinda Roberts
Westchester Community College
SUNY; Valhalla, NY
Melinda.Roberts@sunywcc.edu

Verna B. Robinson
Anne Arundel Community College
vbrobinson@aacc.edu

Debby Rosenthal
John Carroll University
Cleveland, OH

Aparecido Donizete Rossi
São Paulo State University (UNESP)
Brazil
adrossi@fclar.unesp.br

Cyndi Sabo
University of New Mexico
Valencia Campus

Karen E. Santee
St Petersburg College

Geraldine H. Seay
Florida A&M University
geraldine.seay@famu.edu

Meg Sempreora
Webster University
St. Louis, MO

Natalia Serejko
Rutgers University
nserejko@yahoo.com

Bonnie Shaker
Kent State University
bshaker@kent.edu.

Azhr Sigh
University of Houston Clear Lake
Texas
sigha2387@gmail.com

Reinaldo Silva
University of Aveiro
Portugal
reinaldosilva@ua.pt

Nikki Singh
Yale University
nikki.singh@yale.edu

Martha Sledge
Marymount Manhattan College
msledge@mmm.edu

John Staunton
Eastern Michigan University
jstaunto@emich.edu

Sari Tanner
Oulu University, Finland
sari.tanner@hotmail.com

Helen Taylor
KCIS Board Member
University of Exeter
United Kingdom
helen.taylor@exeter.ac.uk

Lauren Thompson
University of Bradford
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
laurenkristina117@yahoo.co.uk

Emily Toth
KCIS Board Member
Louisiana State University
etoth@lsu.edu
emtoth14@yahoo.com

Michael Tritt
Marianopolis College
Montreal, Canada
m.tritt@marianopolis.edu

Mariko Utsu
Yonezawa Women's Junior College
Japan

Camille Vourc’h
Cami-Li Books & Tea
Avignon, France
camili.avignon@gmail.com

Karen Walker
University of Arkansas
kaw10@uark.edu

Xuemei Wan
School of Foreign Languages, Jiangsu University
China
wanxuemei@ujs.edu.cn

Gerard White
Mercy Academy
Louisville, Kentucky
gwhite@mercyjaguars.com

Kim Whitehead
Mississippi University for Women
kmwhitehead@muw.edu

Deisi Luzia Zanatta
University of Passo Fundo (UPF)
Brazil
deisil.zanatta@gmail.com


Graphic separator

Join us? Become a member?

We would be happy to have you as a member of The Kate Chopin International Society. We welcome scholars, teachers, graduate and undergraduate students, and anyone else who is interested in Chopin.

You can join us by email. Simply send us your name and your institutional affiliation or profession (or write to Heather.Ostman@sunywcc.edu). And tell us if you would like us to include your email address on our listing.

We have no dues, but a check of $10 or more, made out to Heather Ostman, would help us with our work:

Heather Ostman, English Department, Westchester Community College, 75 Grasslands Rd., Valhalla, NY 10509

Related scholarly organizations:

ALA: American Literature Association

MLA: Modern Language Association

SSAWW: Society for the Study of American Women Writers

PCA/ACA: Popular Culture & American Culture Associations

In Her Own Words

About the Kate Chopin International Society

Become a member of the Kate Chopin International Society

About this website

How to cite the information on this website

Contact us

 
boston Special Kate Chopin presentations at the 2014 American Literature Association conference in Washington, D.C., this May
1899 Novel The original cover of Kate Chopin's famous novel, published in 1899.