We provide a network and forum for the study of American author Kate Chopin.

We encourage and support scholarship and activities that illuminate Chopin’s contribution to the American literary tradition, and we seek to preserve her literary significance for future generations.

If you’re a scholar or advanced graduate student interested in conference presentations, scholarly journals, contributing to this website, or helping us with queries, you may want to check our page for scholars.

About this website.

Our history

The society was formed in 2004 by Heather Ostman and Avis Hewitt, both English professors at American universities, after the conference of the American Literature Association, an organization made up of scholarly societies devoted to the study of American authors. Most better-known American authors have a society of their own, and Heather and Avis thought Kate Chopin deserved a scholarly society focused on her work, even though the Kate Chopin Society of North America, with a different emphasis, already existed in St. Louis.

The Kate Chopin International Society created an advisory board made up mostly of Chopin specialists and sponsored panels at the 2005 ALA conference, as well as at ALA conferences each year since then, and sponsored special panels at the 2014 conference (held in Washington, DC, in late May). We also sponsor panels at other conferences.

Our officers and our website staff

Heather Ostman continues as president of the society. Kelli O’Brien is the conference coordinator.

On the advisory board are Heather (State University of New York: Westchester Community College) and Avis Hewitt (Grand Valley State University), Thomas Bonner (Xavier University of Louisiana), Barbara Ewell (Loyola University of New Orleans), Bernard Koloski (Mansfield University), Kathleen Butterly Nigro (University of Missouri–St. Louis), Mary Papke (University of Tennessee), John Staunton (University of North Carolina at Charlotte), Helen Taylor (Exeter University, UK), and Emily Toth (Louisiana State University).

The KateChopin.org website staff:

The editor of KateChopin.org is Bernard Koloski (Mansfield University).
The editors of short story texts are Kathleen Nigro (University of Missouri–St. Louis) and Bernard Koloski
The German translation specialist is Heidi Podlasli-Labrenza (University of Bremen, Germany).
The Portuguese translation specialist is Cido Rossi (São Paulo State University, Brazil).
The Spanish translation specialist is Eulalia Piñero Gil (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid).
The bibliography specialist is Kelli O’Brien (University of Memphis).
The link specialist is Kathryn O’Donoghue (City University of New York Graduate Center).

Members of the website advisory committee include Tom Bonner (Xavier University of Louisiana), Suzanne Disheroon (Cedar Valley College), Barbara Ewell (Loyola University of New Orleans), Beth Jensen (Georgia Perimeter College), Kathleen Nigro (University of Missouri–St. Louis), Kelli O’Brien (University of Memphis), Kate O’Donoghue (City University of New York Graduate Center), Eulalia Piñero Gil (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain), and Emily Toth (Louisiana State University).

A partial listing of our members–Winter 2015

In addition to members based in the United States and the United Kingdom (in England, Northern Ireland, and Scotland), we have multiple members in Brazil and Germany, as well as members in Canada, China, Finland, France, Greece, Japan, Portugal, and Spain.

Sonia Adams
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Indiana, Pennsylvania
USA
S.M.Adams2@iup.edu

Melanie M. Austin
Seattle University
Seattle, Washington
USA

Janet Beer
Vice Chancellor
Oxford Brookes University
Oxford, England
United Kingdom
jbeer@brookes.ac.uk

Sylvia Bennett
Marian Central High School
Woodstock, Illinois
USA
sylvia.c.bennett@gmail.com

Gayle Birrell
Writer
Seattle, Washington
USA
gayle.birrell@gmail.com

Laura V. Bonner
Editor, CarMax
Richmond, Virginia
USA
lauravbonner@gmail.com

Thomas Bonner, Jr.
KCIS Board Member
Xavier University of Louisiana
New Orleans, Louisiana
USA
tbonner@xula.edu

Zach Brooks
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, Alabama
USA
zachbrooks2011@live.com

Christina G. Bucher
Berry College
Mount Berry, Georgia
USA
cbucher@berry.edu

Vickie Burns
James Madison University
Harrisonburg, Virginia
USA
burnsvl@dukes.jmu.edu

Greg Chopin
Kate Chopin’s great grandson
USA
gdchopin@gmail.com

P. K. Collier
Author
Niantic, Connecticut
USA
PKcollier@yahoo.com

Teresa Crew
Johnson and Wales University
Providence, Rhode Island
USA
smokeygracie@comcast.net

Pamela D’Ambrosia
Bramson ORT College
Queens, New York
USA

Suzanne L. Disheroon
Cedar Valley College
Lancaster, Texas
USA
drsusiedish@gmail.com
sdisheroon@dcccd.edu

Michelle Elkerton
Mater Dei High School
Santa Ana, California
USA
MElkerton@materdei.org

Miranda Elkins-Livingston
Texas Woman’s University
Denton, Texas
USA
melkins@twu.edu, lilymae2@hotmail.com

Nicol Michelle Epple
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Indiana, Pennsylvania
USA
n.m.epple@iup.edu

Barbara C. Ewell
Loyola University New Orleans
New Orleans, Louisiana
USA

Kate S. Flynn
Roosevelt High School
Saint Louis, Missouri
USA
KateSFlynn@gmail.com

Catherine Forsa
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, Ohio
USA
cqf2@case.edu

Heather Fox
University of South Florida
Tampa, Florida
USA
heatherfox@mail.usf.edu

Rosemary Franklin
University of Georgia
Athens, Georgia
USA
franklin@uga.edu

Meredith Frederich
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, Illinois
USA
mfrederi@niu.edu

Sarah Fredericks
University of Arizona
Tucson, Arizona
USA

Scott Thomas Gibson
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Greensboro, North Carolina
USA
stgibson@gmail.com

Farrah Gilbert
North Greenville University
Tigerville, South Carolina
USA
fgcheer@hotmail.com

Katherine Hazen
Grand Valley High School
Orwell, Ohio
USA
cuttergirl768@yahoo.com

Terri Hennessy
Grays Harbor College
Aberdeen, Washington
USA
thenness@ghc.edu

Avis Hewitt
KCIS Board Member
Grand Valley University
Allendale, Michigan
USA
Avis.Hewitt@gmail.com

Jane Hikel
Central Connecticut State University
New Britain, Connecticut
USA
janehikel@yahoo.com

Lenora Hobbs
Kate Chopin Society of North America
St. Louis, Missouri
USA

Marilyn Hoder-Salmon
Florida International University
Miami, Florida
USA
hodersm@fiu.edu

Irene Jankowski
ijankowski@ix.netcom.com

Trece Jordan-Larsen
Slidell High School
Slidell, Louisiana
USA
trece.jordan-larsen@stpsb.org

Bernard Koloski
KCIS Board Member
Mansfield, Pennsylvania
USA
bkoloski@katechopin.org

Linda Kornasky
Angelo State University
San Angelo, Texas
USA

Carrie Koscher
University of St. Andrews
Fife, Scotland
United Kingdom
carriesweeties@yahoo.com

Erik Levanowitz
Bath-Haverling Central School
Bath, New York
USA
elevanowitz@bathcsd.org

Nanci Love
Bay College
Escanaba, Michigan
USA

Sonja Lynch
Wartburg College
Waverly, Iowa
USA
sonja.lynch@wartburg.edu

José Vilian Mangueira
State University of Rio Grande do Norte
Natal, Rio Grande do Norte
Brazil
vilian_mangueira@yahoo.com

Gary Mayer
Stephen F. Austin State University
Nacogdoches, Texas
USA
gmayer@sfasu.edu

Kerry Meehan McCann
Northern Regional College
County Antrim, County Londonderry
Northern Ireland
United Kingdom
Kerry@mccannfamily.plus.com

Crescida McCue
Humble High School
Houston Baptist University
Houston, Texas
USA
crescida.mccue@humble.k12.tx.us

Julia McLeod
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, Tennessee
USA
jmcleod5@utk.edu

Diane Meeks
Freelance writer
dianemeeks2@gmail.com

Patricia A.C. Milanes
York College
City University of New York
New York, New York
USA
pmilanes@york.cuny.edu

Nadilza Martins de Barros Moreira
Federal University of Paraiba
João Pessoa, Paraíba
Brazil

Tom Morgan
University of Dayton
Dayton, Ohio
USA
morgantz@notes.udayton.edu

Lola Moss
Clark County School District
Las Vegas, Nevada
USA
LRM562@interact.ccsd.net

Cindy Murillo
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, New Mexico
USA
ccmur@unm.edu

Jennifer Nader
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, New Mexico
USA
jennader@unm.edu

Kathleen Butterly Nigro
KCIS Board Member
University of Missouri–St. Louis
St. Louis, Missouri
USA

Julia Nordmann
Freie Universität Berlin
Berlin
Germany
jule.nordmann@gmail.com

Chrysula Norway
Athens College
Psychiko
Greece
(Hellenic American Educational Foundation)
n_chrysula@hotmail.com

Michelle N. Noyer-Granacki
Williams College
Williamstown, Massachusetts
USA
Michelle.N.Noyer-Granacki@williams.edu

Kelli Purcell O’Brien
KCIS Conference Coordinator
University of Memphis
Memphis, Tennessee
USA
kobrien1@memphis.edu

Kathryn O’Donoghue
City University of New York Graduate Center
New York, New York
USA
kathryn.erin.odonoghue@gmail.com

Heather Ostman
KCIS President
Westchester Community College
SUNY
Valhalla, New York
USA
Heather.Ostman@sunywcc.edu

Mary Papke
KCIS Board Member
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, Tennessee
USA
papke@utk.edu

Kyllikki Persson
Belmont University
Nashville, Tennessee
USA
kyllikki.persson@gmail.com

Eulalia Piñero-Gil
Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
Madrid
Spain
eulalia.pinero@uam.es

Becky Plant
Heritage University
Toppenish, Washington
USA
rplant@live.com

Heidi Podlasli-Labrenz
University of Bremen
Bremen
Germany
podlasli@uni-bremen.de

Josh Privett
Bob Jones University
Greenville, South Carolina
USA
jpriv491@students.bju.edu

Melinda Roberts
Westchester Community College
SUNY
Valhalla, New York
USA
Melinda.Roberts@sunywcc.edu

Verna B. Robinson
Anne Arundel Community College
Arnold, Maryland
USA
vbrobinson@aacc.edu

Debby Rosenthal
John Carroll University
Cleveland, Ohio
USA

Aparecido Donizete Rossi
São Paulo State University
São Paulo
Brazil
adrossi@fclar.unesp.br

Cyndi Sabo
University of New Mexico
Valencia Campus
Los Lunas, New Mexico
USA

Karen E. Santee
St Petersburg College
St. Petersbur, Florida
USA

Geraldine H. Seay
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University
Tallahassee, Florida
USA
geraldine.seay@famu.edu

Meg Sempreora
Webster University
St. Louis, Missouri
USA

Natalia Serejko
Rutgers University
New Brunswick, New Jersey
USA
nserejko@yahoo.com

Bonnie Shaker
Kent State University
Kent, Ohio
USA

Azhr Sigh
University of Houston Clear Lake
Pasadena, Texas
USA
sigha2387@gmail.com

Reinaldo Silva
University of Aveiro
Aveiro
Portugal
reinaldosilva@ua.pt

Nikki Singh
Yale University
New Haven, Connecticut
USA
nikki.singh@yale.edu

Martha Sledge
Marymount Manhattan College
New York, New York
USA
msledge@mmm.edu

John Staunton
Eastern Michigan University
Ypsilanti, Michigan
USA
jstaunto@emich.edu

Sari Tanner
Oulu University
Oulu
Finland
sari.tanner@hotmail.com

Helen Taylor
KCIS Board Member
University of Exeter
Exeter, England
United Kingdom
helen.taylor@exeter.ac.uk

Lauren Thompson
University of Bradford
West Yorkshire, England
United Kingdom
laurenkristina117@yahoo.co.uk

Emily Toth
KCIS Board Member
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
USA
etoth@lsu.edu
emtoth14@yahoo.com

Michael Tritt
Marianopolis College
Montreal
Canada
m.tritt@marianopolis.edu

Mariko Utsu
Yonezawa Women’s Junior College
Yonezawa, Yamagata
Japan

Camille Vourc’h
Cami-Li Books and Tea
Avignon
France
camili.avignon@gmail.com

Karen Walker
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, Arkansas
USA
kaw10@uark.edu

Xuemei Wan
School of Foreign Languages, Jiangsu University
Zhenjiang, Jiangsu Province
China
wanxuemei@ujs.edu.cn

Gerard White
Mercy Academy
Louisville, Kentucky
USA
gwhite@mercyjaguars.com

Kim Whitehead
Mississippi University for Women
Columbus, Mississippi
USA
kmwhitehead@muw.edu

Deisi Luzia Zanatta
University of Passo Fundo
Passo Fundo, Rio Grande do Sul
Brazil
deisil.zanatta@gmail.com

Join us. Become a member.

We would be happy to have you as a member of The Kate Chopin International Society. We welcome scholars, teachers, graduate and undergraduate students, and anyone else who is interested in Chopin.

You can join us by email. Simply send us your name and your institutional affiliation or profession (or write to Heather.Ostman@sunywcc.edu). And tell us if you would like us to include your email address on our listing.

We have no dues, but a check of $10 or more, made out to Heather Ostman, would help us with our work:

Heather Ostman, English Department, Westchester Community College, 75 Grasslands Rd., Valhalla, NY 10509

Related scholarly organizations:

ALA: American Literature Association

MLA: Modern Language Association

SSAWW: Society for the Study of American Women Writers

SSSL: Society for the Study of Southern Literature

PCA/ACA: Popular Culture & American Culture Associations

Web Statistics