We provide a network and forum for the study of American author Kate Chopin.

We encourage and support scholarship and activities that illuminate Chopin’s contribution to the American literary tradition, and we seek to preserve her literary significance for future generations.

If you’re a scholar or advanced graduate student interested in conference presentations, scholarly journals, contributing to this website, or helping us with queries, you may want to check our page for scholars.

About this website.

Our history

The society was formed in 2004 by Heather Ostman and Avis Hewitt, both English professors at American universities, after the conference of the American Literature Association, an organization made up of scholarly societies devoted to the study of American authors. Most better-known American authors have a society of their own, and Heather and Avis thought Kate Chopin deserved a scholarly society focused on her work, even though the Kate Chopin Society of North America, with a different emphasis, already existed in St. Louis.

The Kate Chopin International Society created an advisory board made up mostly of Chopin specialists and sponsored panels at the 2005 ALA conference, as well as at ALA conferences each year since then, and sponsored special panels at the 2014 conference (held in Washington, DC, in late May). We also sponsor panels at other conferences.

Our officers and our website staff

Heather Ostman continues as president of the society. Kelli O’Brien is the conference coordinator.

On the advisory board are Heather (State University of New York: Westchester Community College) and Avis Hewitt (Grand Valley State University), Thomas Bonner (Xavier University of Louisiana), Barbara Ewell (Loyola University of New Orleans), Bernard Koloski (Mansfield University), Kathleen Butterly Nigro (University of Missouri–St. Louis), Mary Papke (University of Tennessee), John Staunton (Eastern Michigan University), Helen Taylor (University of Exeter, UK), and Emily Toth (Louisiana State University).

The KateChopin.org website staff:

The editor of KateChopin.org is Bernard Koloski (Mansfield University).
The editors of short story texts are Kathleen Nigro (University of Missouri–St. Louis) and Bernard Koloski
The German page is edited by Heidi Podlasli-Labrenza (University of Bremen, Germany).
The Portuguese page is edited by Cido Rossi (São Paulo State University, Brazil).
The Spanish page is edited by Eulalia Piñero Gil (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid).
The scholarship listings are updated by Kelli O’Brien (University of Memphis).
The link checker is Kathryn O’Donoghue (City University of New York Graduate Center).

Members of the website advisory committee include Tom Bonner (Xavier University of Louisiana), Suzanne Disheroon (Cedar Valley College), Barbara Ewell (Loyola University of New Orleans), Beth Jensen (Georgia Perimeter College), Kathleen Nigro (University of Missouri–St. Louis), Kelli O’Brien (University of Memphis), Kate O’Donoghue (City University of New York Graduate Center), Eulalia Piñero Gil (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain), and Emily Toth (Louisiana State University).

A partial listing of our members–Autumn 2015

In addition to members based in the United States and the United Kingdom (in England, Northern Ireland, and Scotland), we have multiple members in Brazil and Germany, as well as members in Canada, China, Finland, France, Greece, Japan, Portugal, and Spain.

Sonia Adams, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA: S.M.Adams2@iup.edu

Melanie M. Austin, Seattle University, Seattle, Washington, USA

Ellen Bayer, University of Washington Tacoma, Tacoma, Washington, USA: ebayer05@uw.edu

Janet Beer, Vice Chancellor, University of Liverpool, Liverpool, England, United Kingdom

Sylvia Bennett, Marian Central High School, Woodstock, Illinois, USA: sylvia.c.bennett@gmail.com

Gayle Birrell, Writer, Seattle, Washington, USA: gayle.birrell@gmail.com

Laura V. Bonner, Editor, CarMax, Richmond, Virginia, USA: lauravbonner@gmail.com

Thomas Bonner, Jr., KCIS Board Member, Xavier University of Louisiana, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA: tbonner@xula.edu

Zach Brooks, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, Alabama, USA: zachbrooks2011@live.com

Christina G. Bucher, Berry College, Mount Berry, Georgia, USA: cbucher@berry.edu

Vickie Burns, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA: burnsvl@dukes.jmu.edu

Greg Chopin, Kate Chopin’s great grandson, USA: gdchopin@gmail.com

P. K. Collier, Author, Niantic, Connecticut, USA: PKcollier@yahoo.com

Teresa Crew, Johnson and Wales University, Providence, Rhode Island, USA: smokeygracie@comcast.net

Pamela D’Ambrosia, Bramson ORT College, Queens, New York, USA

Suzanne L. Disheroon, Cedar Valley College, Lancaster, Texas, USA: drsusiedish@gmail.com, sdisheroon@dcccd.edu

Michelle Elkerton, Mater Dei High School, Santa Ana, California, USA: MElkerton@materdei.org

Miranda Elkins-Livingston, Texas Woman’s University, Denton, Texas, USA: melkins@twu.edu, lilymae2@hotmail.com

Nicol Michelle Epple, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA: n.m.epple@iup.edu

Barbara C. Ewell, Loyola University New Orleans, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Kate S. Flynn, Roosevelt High School, Saint Louis, Missouri, USA: KateSFlynn@gmail.com

Catherine Forsa, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio, USA: cqf2@case.edu

Heather Fox, University of South Florida, Tampa, Florida, USA: heatherfox@mail.usf.edu

Rosemary Franklin, University of Georgia, Athens, Georgia, USA: franklin@uga.edu

Meredith Frederich, Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, Illinois, USA: mfrederi@niu.edu

Sarah Fredericks, University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona, USA

Scott Thomas Gibson, Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, North Carolina, USA: stgibson@gmail.com

Farrah Gilbert, North Greenville University, Tigerville, South Carolina, USA: fgcheer@hotmail.com

Katherine Hazen, Grand Valley High School, Orwell, Ohio, USA: cuttergirl768@yahoo.com

Terri Hennessy, Grays Harbor College, Aberdeen, Washington, USA: thenness@ghc.edu

Avis Hewitt, KCIS Board Member, Grand Valley University, Allendale, Michigan, USA: Avis.Hewitt@gmail.com

Jane Hikel, Central Connecticut State University, New Britain, Connecticut, USA: janehikel@yahoo.com

Lenora Hobbs, Kate Chopin Society of North America, St. Louis, Missouri, USA

Marilyn Hoder-Salmon, Florida International University, Miami, Florida, USA: hodersm@fiu.edu

Irene Jankowski: ijankowski@ix.netcom.com

Kerry Jones, Wichita State University, Wichita, Kansas, USA: kerry.jones@wichita.edu

Trece Jordan-Larsen, Slidell High School, Slidell, Louisiana, USA: trece.jordan-larsen@stpsb.org

Bernard Koloski, KCIS Board Member, Mansfield, Pennsylvania, USA: bkoloski@katechopin.org

Linda Kornasky, Angelo State University, San Angelo, Texas, USA

Carrie Koscher, University of St. Andrews, Fife, Scotland, United Kingdom: carriesweeties@yahoo.com

Erik Levanowitz, Bath-Haverling Central School, Bath, New York, USA: elevanowitz@bathcsd.org

Nanci Love, Bay College, Escanaba, Michigan, USA

Sonja Lynch, Wartburg College, Waverly, Iowa, USA: sonja.lynch@wartburg.edu

José Vilian Mangueira, State University of Rio Grande do Norte, Natal, Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil: vilian_mangueira@yahoo.com

Gary Mayer, Stephen F. Austin State University, Nacogdoches, Texas, USA: gmayer@sfasu.edu

Kerry Meehan McCann, Northern Regional College, County Antrim, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom: Kerry@mccannfamily.plus.com

Crescida McCue, Humble High School, Houston Baptist University, Houston, Texas, USA: crescida.mccue@humble.k12.tx.us

Julia McLeod, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee, USA: jmcleod5@utk.edu

Diane Meeks, American Public University, USA: dianemeeks2@gmail.com

Patricia A.C. Milanes, York College, City University of New York, New York, New York, USA: pmilanes@york.cuny.edu

Maribel Morales, Carthage College, Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA: mmorales@carthage.edu

Nadilza Martins de Barros Moreira, Federal University of Paraiba, João Pessoa, Paraíba, Brazil

Thomas Morgan, University of Dayton, Dayton, Ohio, USA: tmorgan2@udayton.edu

Lola Moss, Clark County School District, Las Vegas, Nevada, USA: LRM562@interact.ccsd.net

Cindy Murillo, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA: ccmur@unm.edu

Jennifer Nader, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA: jennader@unm.edu

Kathleen Butterly Nigro, KCIS Board Member, University of Missouri–St. Louis, St. Louis, Missouri, USA

Julia Nordmann, Freie Universität Berlin, Berlin, Germany: jule.nordmann@gmail.com

Chrysula Norway, Athens College, Psychiko, Greece (Hellenic American Educational Foundation): n_chrysula@hotmail.com

Michelle N. Noyer-Granacki, Williams College, Williamstown, Massachusetts, USA: Michelle.N.Noyer-Granacki@williams.edu

Kelli Purcell O’Brien, KCIS Conference Coordinator, University of Memphis, Memphis, Tennessee, USA: kobrien1@memphis.edu

Kathryn O’Donoghue, City University of New York Graduate Center, New York, New York, USA: kathryn.erin.odonoghue@gmail.com

Ann Ogle, Foothill College, Los Altos Hills, California, USA: annogle@cruzio.com

Heather Ostman, KCIS President, Westchester Community College, SUNY, Valhalla, New York, USA: Heather.Ostman@sunywcc.edu

Mary Papke, KCIS Board Member, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee, USA: papke@utk.edu

Kyllikki Persson, Belmont University, Nashville, Tennessee, USA: kyllikki.persson@gmail.com

Eulalia Piñero-Gil, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Madrid, Spain: eulalia.pinero@uam.es

Becky Plant, Heritage University, Toppenish, Washington, USA: rplant@live.com

Heidi Podlasli-Labrenz, University of Bremen, Bremen, Germany: podlasli@uni-bremen.de

Melissa R. Pompili, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Josh Privett, Bob Jones University, Greenville, South Carolina, USA: jpriv491@students.bju.edu

Melinda Roberts, Westchester Community College, SUNY, Valhalla, New York, USA: Melinda.Roberts@sunywcc.edu

Verna B. Robinson, Anne Arundel Community College, Arnold, Maryland, USA: vbrobinson@aacc.edu

Debby Rosenthal, John Carroll University, Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Aparecido Donizete Rossi, São Paulo State University, São Paulo, Brazil: adrossi@fclar.unesp.br

Cyndi Sabo, University of New Mexico, Valencia Campus, Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA

Karen E. Santee, St Petersburg College, St. Petersbur, Florida, USA

Geraldine H. Seay, Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University, Tallahassee, Florida, USA: geraldine.seay@famu.edu

Meg Sempreora, Webster University, St. Louis, Missouri, USA

Natalia Serejko, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA: nserejko@yahoo.com

Bonnie Shaker, Kent State University, Kent, Ohio, USA

Azhr Sigh, University of Houston Clear Lake, Pasadena, Texas, USA: sigha2387@gmail.com

Reinaldo Silva, University of Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal: reinaldosilva@ua.pt

Nikki Singh, Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut, USA: nikki.singh@yale.edu

Martha Sledge, Marymount Manhattan College, New York, New York, USA: msledge@mmm.edu

John Staunton, Eastern Michigan University, Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA: jstaunto@emich.edu

Sari Tanner, Oulu University, Oulu, Finland: sari.tanner@hotmail.com

Helen Taylor, KCIS Board Member, University of Exeter, Exeter, England, United Kingdom: helen.taylor@exeter.ac.uk

Lauren Thompson; University of Bradford, West Yorkshire, England, United Kingdom: laurenkristina117@yahoo.co.uk

Emily Toth, KCIS Board Member, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA: etoth@lsu.edu, emtoth14@yahoo.com

Michael Tritt, Marianopolis College, Montreal, Canada: m.tritt@marianopolis.edu

Mariko Utsu, Yonezawa Women’s Junior College, Yonezawa, Yamagata, Japan

Camille Vourc’h, “Cami-Li Books and Tea,” Avignon, France: camili.avignon@gmail.com

Karen Walker, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA: kaw10@uark.edu

Xuemei Wan, School of Foreign Languages, Jiangsu University, Zhenjiang, Jiangsu Province, China: wanxuemei@ujs.edu.cn

Gerard White, Mercy Academy, Louisville, Kentucky, USA: gwhite@mercyjaguars.com

Kim Whitehead, Mississippi University for Women, Columbus, Mississippi, USA: kmwhitehead@muw.edu

Deisi Luzia Zanatta, University of Passo Fundo, Passo Fundo, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil: deisil.zanatta@gmail.com

Join us. Become a member.

We would be happy to have you as a member of The Kate Chopin International Society. We welcome scholars, teachers, graduate and undergraduate students, and anyone else who is interested in Chopin.

You can join us by email. Simply send us your name and your institutional affiliation or profession (or write to Heather.Ostman@sunywcc.edu). And tell us if you would like us to include your email address on our listing.

We have no dues, but a check of $10 or more, made out to Heather Ostman, would help us with our work:

Heather Ostman, English Department, Westchester Community College, 75 Grasslands Rd., Valhalla, NY 10509

Related scholarly organizations:

ALA: American Literature Association

MLA: Modern Language Association

SSAWW: Society for the Study of American Women Writers

SSSL: Society for the Study of Southern Literature

PCA/ACA: Popular Culture & American Culture Associations